Starting the year out reading and writing….

26 10 2009

Way to Start a DayFrom the first few weeks of school:

Although I am not completely doing writing workshop, I am working them into it. I am reading and having them write and share every day. I am setting the expectations now that I value reading and writing. When they write- I do too.
Writing Notebooks: For their writing notebooks, I have them write what I call the Warm it up part ( at the beginning of class). The back half of the notebook will be used for reading response and the very last five pages will be for their writing territories that I will work with them on next week.

So far, I have read to them:
One: I read aloud, The Way to Start a Day by Byrd Baylor and had them write about their ideal way to start a day, or school year. Then I had them pick a word, quote or phrase to share with the class.

Day Two: I read aloud, I’m In Charge of Celebrations by Byrd Baylor. I had them create a celebration and explain what they would celebrate. Again, I did a quick quaker share-each person shared their celebration and one thing they would do during that celebration.

Day Three: I read aloud, The book, Wilfrid Gordon McDonald Partridge by Mem Fox. I stopped periodically throughout the book and had the students sketch whatever they want related to the story when I tell them to. The sketches don’t have to be detailed, or well done. At the end, I had the students share with someone around them their sketches and explain why they drew what they did.

Actions

Information

One response

18 01 2010
Everybody Needs a Rock « Read… Write… Talk…

[...] recently read Everybody Needs A Rock by Bryd Baylor (he has many  books that are great read- alouds).  This is a story in which a girl tells the reader the ten rules for finding a rock. “Not [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

