Theme & Symbolism in one quick hit!

9 11 2009

Fly Away HomeI find that students constantly struggle with distinguishing the theme from the plot. I try to read a lot of picture books and have them tell me the theme after we have read it. I recently  read Fly Away Home by Eve Bunting to my students and I had them pick out the theme. It is a story about a dad and young boy who live in an airport because they are homeless. It is also a good segway into discussing the topic of homelessness and reasons people are homeless etc… We also talked about symbolism (the bird represents that there is hope and that the boy and dad have hope to someday get a home). This can be used as a warm up to spark student’s writing ideas in their writing notebooks.5 minute picture book= symbolism, theme and a discussion, or at least a thought in student’s s mind about a social issue- can’t go wrong!

Actions

Information

3 responses

10 11 2009
David Stoner

I enjoyed your site. It seems we have very similiar interests. I’ve taught elementary school for 36 years and also am the Co director of the Indiana University Southeast Writng Project. I hope to come back to your blog often. Have a great day.

15 11 2009
writereadtalk

Hi- Thanks so much for checking out my site, I appreciate it.

6 10 2013
Teaching Inference | Read... Write... Talk...

[…] the story, Fly Away Home. It is a great story about a homeless dad and son who live in the airport (I also wrote about an activity I did with this book here). As I read the story aloud, I stopped throughout the book and gave them a specific event that […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

