Book of Awesome- pretty AWESOME!

25 04 2011

Here’s a great end of the year writing assignment:

The Book of Awesome: Snow Days, Bakery Air, Finding Money in Your Pocket, and Other Simple, Brilliant Things by Neil Pasricha.  It is a great book to use in the classroom as either a writing spark or a writing assignment.

In the book are small awesome things that we may find in  you every day lives that makes you stop for a moment and say, Awesome! After each awesome moment is a brief story or explanation- many will leave you nodding your head yeah that is awesome! We have started a tradition in our house where we read one awesome moment at dinner every night- it is a simple reminder to appreciate the small awesome moments in our lives. 

Since the end of the year is coming to a close, I wanted each of my kids to write a page to go into our class Book of Awesome! I am giving  them guidelines, and writing an example myself. I want them to illustrate or design their page in their style and in any way they want that reflects them.I then want to have them share their awesome pages in a gallery walk.

I am excited to see how these turn out, and I will share with you how the kids respond to them! :)

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 07 2011
Emely

This is awesome. I love awesome moment in my life and love to see other people who share the same interest. Its a great idea.

31 08 2013
Erin

I’m thinking of doing this at the beginning of my school year (next week). How did it turn out? I was considering having each student make their own Book of Awesome, but I also like your idea of a class book! (I teach Grade 4)

22 09 2013
writereadtalk

Hi,
So sorry I missed this comment when you wrote it. I hope that you tried it, and if you did, it was successful!
Every time my students have done it in the past, it has been successful!:) I’m interested to hear how it went for you. Again, I apologize for missing this comment!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

