Figurative Language Picture Books

9 03 2014

I am a BIG believer in reading picture books to my students. Students of all ages can appreciate a story read aloud and can reap the benefits of hearing a fluent reader.

Here are a few of my favorite Figurative Language picture books. I like to have my students create their own picture book story and incorporate as much figurative language into it as they can. My students love to read, share and look through these while they are writing and we are working on figurative language.

Alliteration:


Some Smug Slug- by Pamela Edwards- We had a lot of fun trying to find the S hidden on each page. I put the book on the Elmo so everyone could see!

The Worrywarts- by Pamela Edwards

Idioms:


Parts, More Parts and Even More Parts by Tedd Arnold. We laughed as we read this book! A young boy doesn’t quite get figurative vs. literal language. When his dad asks him to Lend a hand- he thinks his dad wants him to cut off his hand!

The Library Dragon by Deedy. This book has some great vocabulary words, idioms and puns.

Similes and Metaphors:


Owl Moon- Jane Yolen.- this book is full of rich language

All The Places to Love by MacLahlan- this book creates rich images using similes.

Personification:

Scarecrow by Rylant.

What are some other good picture books you use for figurative language?

Actions

Information

3 responses

21 04 2010
Kerry

I used many of these as well for our ‘Elements of Style’ as they are called in our curriculum. For onomatopoeia I showed clips from the old Batman TV shows. For foreshadowing I used some movie trailers. One of my favourite books is ‘Things that are Most in the World’ for superlatives.

Kerry

26 04 2010
Stacy Nockowitz

When introducing the idea of prepositional phrases to my students, I read them Berenstain Bears In the Night. It’s basically 100% prep prhases, and the kids love it. I agree with reading the older kids picture books. Just the mention of story time gets them excited!

12 03 2012
Hilary

Cool!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

