Spark Student’s Creative Writing Thoughts

1 11 2009

Secret Knowledge of Gorwn upsI read The Secret Knowledge of Grown Ups by David Wisniewski to my students last week. Not only did they get a kick out of it, they also wrote some really creative stuff!  This is a unique picture book that takes many rules that adults tell children and then gives the reason that adults have for the rule. Sometimes the reasons behind the rules often don’t seem to make any sense. The books shows children the real reasons for adult rules. For example:  for the rule eat your vegetables, adults say that children to do this to be healthy. The real reason that the book reveals is that once giant vegetables ruled the world. We have to eat veggies so they never take over again.

I read a few rules and reasons to my students so they got the idea for the format of the book.  During warm up writing time I gave them other rules in the book and they came up with their own reasons. They did an awesome job! For example for the rule don’t jump on your bed, one of my student’s said that the reason adults tell kids this is because it will wake up the monsters under the bed.

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 11 2009
Stacy Nockowitz

I have never read this book, but after reading your comments, I think I’ll check it out. Friday, I am going to a conference here in Columbus, and my first session is called Writing, Writing, Writing. I’m hoping for good ideas I can take back to the classroom. I’ll let you know if they say anything worthwhile!

15 11 2009
writereadtalk

Was your conference in Columbus any good? ANything good to share? I did see some stuff on your blog. How was the writing, writing, writing?

Leave a Reply

