Mining for Gold~Finding the Golden Lines

9 11 2009

IMG_0720

* I can’t figure  out how change the orientation of this picture I took of my Mining for gold poster- turn your head to check it out!! 🙂 )*

I often have students Mining for Gold, or finding the Golden Lines in writing. I started the year off by exposing them to writing from all different genres and from professional writers to former students. I started by telling them that I was going to read a piece aloud, and they were to read along and then we were going to Mine foe Gold, or find the golden lines.

Mining For Gold

a passage, phrase or sentence that :

Makes you wonder

Makes you laugh

Makes you sad or upset

Connects with your life

Is your favorite

Sounds poetic

This is a simple warm up activity that I do a few days a week. At first the students didn’t really know what to say, and just commented if there was a grammatical error or word they didn’t understand. I  would always share the first few times, pointing out lines that stood out to me, words that resonated, etc…. As time went on, the student’s responses became much deeper. They were looking at the writing as a writer.

After a few weeks of just commenting on the work, we then moved to “next steps” for the writer. We would give suggestions that the writer could do to improve their piece. Now that we have written various pieces, I ask some students if I can put their writing piece on the Elmo*** to share with the class. Eventually I hope to have my students bring in their own passages to use golden lines.

***I always put the writing piece on my Elmo (if you don’t have one of these – do everything you can to get one- it’s my BEST Friend in the classroom! http://www.elmousa.com/).

Actions

Information

4 responses

27 09 2010
Top Ten Lists « Read… Write… Talk…

[…] my student’s blog this week, I had them find Golden Lines and create a top ten list on their book. I gave them some ideas ( see below). I also required them […]

20 03 2011
Poetry & Art « Read… Write… Talk…

[…] poems are great examples that I use when we mine for gold, but the art really brings out the poem. I am collaborating with our art teacher and our writing […]

29 09 2013
Poetry. Every. Single. Day. | Read... Write... Talk...

[…] books. Every day I read a poem to my students and we Mine for Gold.  To understand Mining for Gold, click here to see a previous post where I explain how I do it in my […]

10 11 2013
Awesome Teaching Poetry Resource! | Read... Write... Talk...

[…] resource that I use to work with students to close read poetry and go deeper than just reading it, mining for gold and letting it […]

Leave a Reply

