The Maze Runner.. a great Young Adult read!

10 11 2009

Just Read….

I just finished this, and I couldn’t put it down.  I am recommending this book to many teens and adults who love a good young adult read. So much to discuss!!

The Maze Runner

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his first name. His memory is blank. When the lift’s doors open, Thomas finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade–a large, open expanse surrounded by stone walls.  Just like Thomas, the Gladers (the other kids there)  don’t know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every morning the stone doors to the maze that surrounds them have opened. Every night they’ve closed tight. Every 30 days a new boy has been delivered in the lift.  Thomas was expected. But the next day, a girl is sent up–the first girl to ever arrive in the Glade. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers.Thomas might be more important than he could ever guess. If only he could unlock the dark secrets buried within his mind.

This is part of a trilogy… so I have a feeling this will be a popular book among teens!

Actions

Information

3 responses

15 11 2009
Stacy Nockowitz

I can’t believe how much buzz this book is getting! I was in Barnes and Noble last night and there it was in their Discover New Authors section. Think you’ll ever use it in your classroom? My mind reels with the curricular possibilities!

15 11 2009
writereadtalk

I do think that if you like to keep up with YA lit- this is one to read! I will use it in my classroom for literature circles. I know that my kids will LOVE this book! They are loving Hunger Games in Literature Circles right now!

18 11 2009
Kerry

I liked this book- but not nearly as much as the Hunger games. I read that aloud to my grade7s and they couldn’t get enough. A few of my more reluctant readers have picked this one up to read independently. I was not thrilled with the ending that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

