Point of View Poem

31 01 2010

When teaching my student’s point of view and perspective, I always read to them Shel Silverstein’s Point of View Poem:

Point of View

By Shel Silverstein

Thanksgiving dinner’s sad and thankless

Christmas dinner’s dark and blue

When you stop and try to see it

From the turkey’s point of view.

Sunday dinner isn’t sunny

Easter fests are just bad luck.

When you see it from the viewpoint of a chicken or a duck.

Oh how I once loved tuna salad pork and lobsters, lamb chops too.

‘Til I stopped and looked at dinner

From the dinner’s point of view.

Then I have my student’s write their own point of view poem. I tell them to be creative and write from an interesting point of view. For example, a pencil(as the lead is being used, it goes down and it gets eaten in the sharpener), a sports ball (basketball, soccer, football, hockey puck etc..), animal (Iditarod dogs). When they share their poems it is always fun to hear their perspectives!! :)

Actions

Information

3 responses

18 04 2010
Tammy McLeod

I love Shel Silverstein and think it’s a wonderful exercise that you read this poem to them prior to creating their own point of view pieces. Great read for me – it’s national poetry month.

23 10 2011
Carla Sabitino

I think Shel Silverstein is an AMAZING poet. His poems change my mood all the time. He is such a strong writer and I think that helps me understand him a little better.

22 11 2012
Turkeys and Love

[...] will actually be six of us, but I’m pretty sure Will & Liam won’t be trying the turkey.  “Point of View” by Shel Silverstein was read by one of the students at all-school Thanksgiving meeting Monday.  [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

