Flip over good books!

9 07 2010

Throughout the year I always give my students the choice to create book reviews using the Flip video camera. I then post them on our website for other students to look at. My goal is to have students want to watch their friends talk about books they enjoyed and then spread the reading love to each other! The kids love to watch and listen to each other. Some have even added their own creative touches to the way they give the book talk, or with the editing process- very cool to see!

If you haven’t used the Flip camera it is very simple to use. Basically you turn it on, hit record and create a short video clip.

My students has lots of favorites books this year. Some included:

Hunger Games, Catching Fire and we are all greatly anticipating Mocking jay- Suzanne Collins

The Summer I turned Pretty- Jenny Han

Same Difference- Siobhan Vivian

Rewind- William Sleator

Elsewhere- Zevin

Give a Boy a Gun- Todd Strasser

Acceleration- Graham McNamee

Books that I loved this year:

Mockingbird- Kathryn Erskine. I think every teacher needs to read this short book told from the perspective of  Caitlin who has  Asperger’s syndrome. It is a heart wrenching story that will make me re-think the way I work with kids who have Asperger’s. I will always consider if these students are truly happy- do they need to fit into our society and what we think will make them happy?

Out of My Mind- Sharon Draper

The Enemy- Charlie Higson

The Year We Disappeared: A Father Daughter Memoir -Cylin and John Busby

What are your must reads for young adults?


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

