If you had one day to live, what would you do?

18 01 2011

There is an MTV show called The Buried Life.  The show is  about four guys who are on a mission to accomplish a list of things they want to do before they die. As they travel around crossing off items from their list, they also help someone do something on their list. They always end the show with, if we were to come to your town and asked you, if you had one day to live, what would you do? Would you know what to say?

I went to youtube and grabbed a video  of the intro of the show and showed it to my students. I used it as a writing spark, and they loved compiling their list. This was a spark I also really enjoyed writing and sharing with them. I loved looking back through my past bucket lists I have made and seeing how my items have changed as I have grown.

If you don’t want your student to compile a list, you could also just use the writing spark- if you had one day to live, what would you do?

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 03 2010
Mrs. Bregman

I wanted to say THANK YOU for this great writing prompt idea!! I am a technology teacher in middle school and the students are creating their own websites. For one of their web pages I used this wirting prompt and they loved it! I have 250 students and they all are loving this and being creative.
I also shared your blog with my friend who is on her way to becoming a HS English teacher! Thanks again!!

25 03 2010
writereadtalk

Thanks for the nice comment 🙂 Having the kids design their own websites sounds so cool! 🙂

Leave a Reply

