Poem for your Personality

13 03 2011

Pick a Poem for your Personality!

I have used this activity at the beginning of the year and also when doing a small poetry unit.

I gather as many poems on numerous topics that I can and I cut them out so that they are all different shapes and sizes. I then scatter them around the room. I give students some time to look through the poems and read them. I then have each student select one poem that they feel represents themselves. I either have them get into groups and share the poem and why they picked it, or have them write why they picked the poem. It is a nice way to get to know students as they always have interesting reasons as to why they picked the poem they did.  I also pick a poem and explain to the class why I picked it so that they get to know me better and I model what I want them to do.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

