I Wonder ?

27 01 2013

Image

Tomorrow I will begin reading aloud to my 8th graders the book, Wonder by R.J. Palacio. 

If you haven’t read this book, or even heard all the buzz about it- you’re missing out! Check out this book trailer. You also may want to read the summary and reviews. This is also a strong contender for the Newberry (which will be announced tomorrow!)

 Each chapter in the story has a different narrator.  At the start of each chapter, there is a picture of the character and his/her name.  To help keep my student’s interest, I am planning on making a copy of the first page of the chapter and put it on the Elmo as I read. The story also has lots of references to songs, which I plan to play for my students. The teacher in the book also has the students write precepts down. I plan to have my students keep a list of precepts in the book. I may even have them try to find or write their own after we have read the book. 

While searching around for other ideas that I may want to do with this book, I came across this AMAZING website. This teacher has already broken down all of the pop culture references that students may not know, and has images that we can share with our students- making this a little more of a multimedia type read aloud. If you plan to read this books aloud to your students, you must check out this website. You also need to check out the author’s page for the background of how this story came about. 

If you have read this as a read aloud, let me know if you have any ideas to share. So many possibilities… 

Actions

Information

One response

27 01 2013
elmcs

Thank you! I love this resource! I teach ESL students, and this will be a great help. Ramona Greathouse

Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

