Wordless Picture Books

14 09 2013

I’m back. Life got crazy and busy and blogging HAD to take a back seat. I often thought about things I wanted to share and blog about, but I wasn’t ever able to find the time to sit and write. I am making it a goal to write on this consistently at least once a week. So here we go, hope I have some readers still out there…

Image

I wanted to have my students write short stories. I always have those kids who can just go and write and a story. Then there are the rest of my kids who have no idea, and don’t know where to start and come up blank. To spark their ideas, I decided to get a bunch of wordless picture books from the library. After we talked about the elements of a short story, I gave each group a wordless picture book and some post it notes. I had them come up with the story, and write their story on the post it notes. The students could stick the post it notes write on the pages, or they could put them on paper to something like a storyboard. When they were done, we made sure that the stories they wrote had all of the elements that we had discussed.

After we shared the group stories, I then placed other Worldess picture books around the room and let them walk around and see if a book sparked their interest or spark an idea. They then took the book back to their desk and used it to help them rite their story.

Overall I thought it helped some kids come up with an idea of what to write about. Some students wrote a story on the entire book, and others just took a page or two and wrote from that. I liked having the students come up with a story together before they started writing their own stories. It helped them generate ideas, but it also made them talk together, listen to each other’s ideas and share their thoughts ( A Common Core  Speaking and listening Standard! 🙂 )

Image

Here are some of the wordless picture books I used:

Free Fall by  David Wiesner

Chalk by Bill Thomson

The Lion & the Mouse by Jerry Pinkney

Rainy Day Dream by Chesworth, Michae

Flotsam by David Wiesner

The Arrival by Tan Shaun 

A Ball For Daisy by Chris Raschka

Home by Jeannie Baker

Clown by Blake, Quentin

The Red Book by Barbara Lehman

The Adventures of Polo by Regis Faller

You Can’t Take a Balloon Into the National Gallery by  Weitzmann and Glasser

Zoom by Istvan Banyai

Re-Zoom by Istvan Banyai

Shadow by Suzy Lee

Grey Lady and the Strawberry Snatcher by Molly Bang

Image

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

